Pennsylvania | Consumer Law
Legal Question
my daughter paid a friend for a ticket for an event and now the friend wont let her go and wont refund the money?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Rachel Hunter |
Some friend. And what is the friend's rationale? Who did your daughter pay? I assume it was the friend. She gave the friend, cash or a check? When was this? If payment by check, has the check already cleared?
This is a lousy way for a friend to act, BUT, what is your daughter really going to do? She can try to sue in small claims if the friend lives in PA and seek to recover her money. How much is she out? Depending on the amount, it may be small enough that it is not worth getting a lawyer for.
I think I would try writing the friend and demanding a refund and an explanation. If the money is not refunded (friend probably does not have it anyway), see if the friend will repay in installments and make the friend sign a promissory note. If there is no response, then your daughter can either sue in small claims or chalk this up to a lesson learned.
In the event that the friend did this deliberately to con your daughter out of money, that is a crime, but it is awfully hard to prove intent. I would have to know more about the situation before I could suggest this. If there is no criminality, then your daughter shjould pursue this civilly if warranted.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
John W. Gibson, Esquire
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 1712
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-21
Arjont Group (Law Office of Roger Traversa)
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 1615
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-15
Mark Johns, Esquire
Horsham, PA
Questions Answered: 1333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-16
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Rosner Law Firm P.A.
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 951
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Kevin J. Begley - Attorney at Law
Parlin, NJ
Questions Answered: 726
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-06
Law Office of Andrew A. Solomon
Malvern, PA
Questions Answered: 616
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Legal Consultant
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 421
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Cohen, Placitella & Roth, P.C.
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 333
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-22
Search Questions and Answers


