California | Family Law
Legal Question
My daughter is in CO waiting an upcoming dui court date and may be encarcerated.I am in CA with my granddaughter.If i take temporary custody which state should the paperwork originate? Thank you
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: James Chau |
If you are asking about guardianship, you should file your papers where the child is currently residing which is CA. You should speak to a family law facilitator in your local court house to see what forms you would need to file to get the process started. Additionally if your daughter agrees to the guardianship then the process would be easier. If the incarceration is for a very brief period of time and you expect her parental duties to resume you may need to reconsider the need to file paperwork to begin with. It may not be appropriate to file paperwork if the jail time will be very short.
For self represented individuals you can consult with the family law facilitator self help center at your local court house.
As always please consult a local attorney prior to taking legal action. Good luck. Also please check out my Santa Clara County Family Lawyer blog.
Law Offices James Chau 1625 The Alameda Suite 204 San Jose, CA. 95126 http://www.jameschaulaw.com/ http://sanjosefamilylawyer.blogspot.com/
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Brian Don Levy
Covina, CA
Questions Answered: 1088
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-01-21
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Law Offices James Chau
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 977
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-27
Search Questions and Answers


