Georgia | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Dealer goes out of business do I still owe money on a Car I purchased? buy here pay here dealer.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Glen Ashman |
You still owe the money, as they still have a lien.
Instead of the windfall you thought you had you have a serious problem. Almost certainly someone, be it a bankruptcy trustee, court receiver or owner of the business, will want to get paid. You'll need to do careful research to make sure as to where and when to make payments, and also to determine how and if you'll get clear title when the loan is paid off.
Be very careful. You made one mistake in dealing with such a business. They charge far more than real lenders, and there are real lenders at normal dealers that will make loans even with poor credit. Don't make a second mistake and send money to the wrong place. Do your homework. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Ashman Law Office
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8777
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Cyrus K. Malekabadi
Alpharetta, GA
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Tran Lankford, Attorney at Law
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 136
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
Law Offices of David H. Glass, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 125
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Reisman Law
Chattanooga, TN
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-01
Search Questions and Answers


