Missouri | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
A debt buyer claims to have purchased an old credit card debt that I believe matches an account my wife once had. If so, the SOL period began in late 2001. The account number on the collector's mailpiece is NOT the same as the original creditor's account number that seems to match. Should my letter challenge the incorrect account number, assert the SOL defense or do both at the same time? I have a week or so to send the collector a request for verification.


