Massachusetts  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
4/20/11, 2:43 pm

Legal Question


I have debt from many years ago. I have since gone onto disability. A year ago a collection agency called me and I agreed to pay them $10 a month because I did not know what else to do. By my offering the $10 a month did I re-instate my agreement for the original credit card debt? I never sent or signed a written agreement to promise this payment but have been sending in payments for well over a year. I did verbally agree to send it though. I do not know how long ago I accrued the debt. I am struggling to make ends meet and am wondering if I can stop paying this $10 a month without being hauled into court. My name is on a house with my dad's & brother's names and my dad and I live in it currently. We have a homestead act on the property. I wish to avoid having liens put on the property. I do not know Massachusett's laws regarding this situation.

I cannot afford bankruptcy nor a lawyer which is why I am posting this here.

Thanks for your help.

Kat


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search