California  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/20/11, 1:36 pm

Legal Question


If a debtor gives a creditor an offer of performance per California Civil Code sections 1485-1505 and the creditor simply ignores an offer of performance made in good faith to pay the full amount of the debt, the law states that the debt is thereby discharged (1485). What recourse does a debtor have under California Civil Code or under the Uniform Commercial Code, should the creditor come back and 1. Continue to try to collect on the debt or 2. sue the debtor to collect the debt.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search