Pennsylvania  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/12/11, 5:48 am

Legal Question


I am in a "default" divorce with a no fault irreconsible differences my husband filed on me. How can I get PERMANENT alimony from him without an attorney? I can't afford one, and Legal Aid won't help me. I was on SSI before I got the spousal support, would that be automatically reinstated if I have no income? I am in public housing now living, and he is with relatives, we had NO property to divide or pensions, nothing...I just want my alimony I think I am entitled to after 27 years of marriage! How can I go to ask for alimony without PAYING someone to fight for me....can't I go Pro Bono? (defend myself without an attorney?) Would I be able to get welfare then if I don't have any money to live off of? I don't want to work, I ain't got a car, I am overweight, I have diabetes, I am bi-polar...so no one will hire me anyhow. What are my chances of getting any alimony off him? I get spousal support now and have been getting it for 2 years since he left me. I won't sign the divorce to get as much money from him as I can now to live. I am 50...I know later I will get half his social security when I am 62...but that is 12 years from now! HELP ME!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search