Pennsylvania  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
1/22/12, 9:22 pm

Legal Question


I am designing a public memorial for a police officer who was killed in the line of duty. I would like to use a copyrighted passage from a book on the memorial with the author's name below it. Am I covered under fair use?

Some important details:

The memorial was funded through a nonprofit organization in the officers name. No profit will be made by the organization as the result of this.

The memorial will be located on a little league field with a message to the children who see it.

The author is a very well-known Christian writer and this memorial may create a new market for his work while not damaging his reputation in his current market. Stories about fallen officer memorials tend to be news worthy and there is a good possibility future police memorials will want to use this passage.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search