Virginia  |  Civil Rights Law

question bubble
11/11/11, 6:57 pm

Legal Question


I'm trying to determine my rights in purchasing a gun/ getting a hunting license, in the state of Virginia. A car accident in North Carolina preceded a hospital mandating me to stay for 6 days under "suicide watch until a judge signed for my release" after misdiagnosing me as suicidal. I have been told people who have been held involuntarily in medical centers cannot ever purchase a firearm or concealed weapon permit, but upon contacting the court was told they couldn't find any record of court involvement in this matter. How can I find out for certain whether I can purchase these, or of whether the hospital really registered me as "mentally incapacitated" after the auto accident through the court?

Any information is appreciated greatly. Michelle C.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search