Tennessee | Criminal Law
Legal Question
what is the difference between end of judicial diversion and termination of judicial diversion
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Charles Bloodworth |
It varies between jurisdictions, and is not a well defined term. In general:
The "end" of judicial diversion (by the way, often also called "post-trial" diversion) is the expiration date of the probationary period. Probation/supervision is over, and IF the Defendant has done all he/she promised to do, the criminal charges are dismissed and matter is expunged from the defendant's records. That dismissal is not always "automatic," and the Defendant or the attorney or the probation officer may have to formally ask to have the matter put back on the docket of the court for entry of a judgment of dismissal.
"Termination" of judicial diversion is usually used to describe the situation where a Defendant has NOT done all that he or she promised, and a violation of probation warrant has been swore and filed. In most cases, the Defendant will be rearrested on the violation warrant, and if the judge finds that the person failed to comply with the terms of the diversion a final judgment of GUILTY is entered and the court will impose a sentence. That is a final judgment that will not be expunged.
|
Top Attorneys in TN
J Todd Moore
Franklin, TN
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-30
Moffitt & Phillips, PLLC
Little Rock, AR
Questions Answered: 241
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-09-05
Law Office of Gregory D. Smith
Clarksville, TN
Questions Answered: 189
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-08
District Public Defender
Clarksville, TN
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Haymaker & Heroux P.C.
Nashville, TN
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-30
Fowler Law Firm
Memphis, TN
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Law office of Karin J. Kelley
Nashville, TN
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-11-20
Shipman & Crim, PLC
Nashville, TN
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-13
Law Offices of Nathan Moore
Nashville, TN
Questions Answered: 12
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-05
Law Office of Michelle D. Reynolds
Murfreesboro, TN
Questions Answered: 10
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-24
Search Questions and Answers


