Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
What is the difference between Guardianship of a child and Temorary Custody?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bob Leonard |
Texas does not recognize "custody." You probably are referring to conservatorship. A guardianship is obtained through the probate courts when there is no available parent to take care of a child. Conservatorship goes through the district or county court system and determines the rights and duties of parents or others (typically relatives) to a child.
There are exception, so if you have questions, you should consult an attorney who practices in one or both areas. |
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
BUSHMAN LAW OFFICES
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1564
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 922
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Power Daley PLLC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 651
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-04
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bob Leonard Law Group, PLLC
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Search Questions and Answers


