California | Tax Law
Legal Question
Is there any difference between out-of-court settlement and judgment after trial regarding income tax consequences? Also how and where to report either on a tax return? I want to do tax right.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: George Shers |
There is no difference. Any money you receive for lost income, profits or wages is technically taxable [relatively small sums are not brought to the attention of the IRS], but the rest is not. If it was taxable without someone being responsible for causing the damage, then it is still taxable if someone else is legally responsible for the losses that are reimbursed to you. The costs you have in obtaining the recovery is deductible as an expense. A smart attorney will often divide the recovery up attributing as little to taxable income as possible. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Donald L. Field, Jr., Attorney at Law
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 837
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
The Burton Law Firm
Sacramento, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-27
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
W. Andrew Harrell, Attorney at Law
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 250
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
WILLIAM A. BRANDWEIN, A PROFESSIONAL LAW CORP.
Monterey, CA
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-01-26
Becker Attorneys
La Jolla, CA
Questions Answered: 147
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Mark Muntean, Attorney at Law
Berkeley, CA
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-25
HONG & MASHAL, LLP
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-10
Lee & Moheban
West Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-17
Search Questions and Answers


