California  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/23/12, 11:34 am

I have discovered my brother and trustee of the family trust has stolen monies from the inheritance of myself and my siblings.

My other 2 siblings have been diagnosed with schizophrenia, and are not capable of standing up for themselves. I am a returning student at a city college, and not employed at this time.

Recently, I finally received the itemized list and bank records for the will-- only after contacting the trust attorney-- who quickly passed this case onto another attorney upon learning what my brother did.

The itemized list has huge gaps, where no record is being offered about monies spent. Also, the bank statement that shows what each sibling should have received in their inheritance is missing. My brother claims the mirofilm was damaged.

In the meantime, I have received a waiver from the new trust attorney that basically says if I sign, my brother will give me $17K-- but I cannot sue him for more, if I discover he has the rest the inheritance belonging to his siblings .

Is there a way I can find out what I should have received in my inheritance?

Also, my brother/trustee sold the house belonging to my deceased parents. Are all siblings entitled to these monies? It was not mentioned in the will, or that part is also missing.

Thank you.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

185 Answers given in the last few hours.

7579 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search