New Jersey | Family Law
2/02/12, 10:32 am
Legal Question
If I have a divorce agreement, can me an my ex mutually sign a paper with amendments an have that superseed the court order
If I have a divorce agreement, can me an my ex mutually sign a paper with amendments an have that superseed the court order
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Gleaner |
Parties are permitted to vary or modify anything in their divorce agreement if they both agree. I usually suggest that the agreement be in writing, signed by both parties and notarized. The best procedure is to have it reduced to a Court Order and signed by a Judge.
Keep in mind that this advice is based purely on the little bit of information that you have given to me. There certainly may be other factors that would change my opinion. Further, no one can rely on advice from an attorney who has not been retained. Since it appears that you have not retained an attorney, you may want to contact a Family Law attorney (either me or someone else) to discuss your matter in more detail. Only then will you be able to rely on the advice. If you call me at 856-546-8010, mention Law Guru and your first one hour consultation will be free. Good luck! Rob Gleaner |
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Davies |
If you do it right, yes.
|
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 5393
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Tinton Falls, Newark, Toms Riv, NJ
Questions Answered: 4416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Hackensack, NJ
Questions Answered: 3589
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1674
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-09-02
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Audubon, NJ
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 603
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-26
Upper Darby, PA
Questions Answered: 592
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-15
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 515
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
► I am in state of nj and have been paying child support on my child. She is 22 years...
► In a divorce in NJ, what period is considered a legal seperation?
► I was wanting to take my daughter to court for visitation of my grandson. They were...
► How do I get a birth certificate after the state of birth tells me there is no...
► Is it possible due to financial situations to have permanent alimony reduced or...
► My wife and I are divorcing. My wife makes roughly 100k a year or more and i...
► My husband is forcing me to sign Marital settlement agreement. i live in New Jersey....
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New Jersey| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press