Indiana  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
9/20/11, 11:57 am

Legal Question


In my divorce decree, my request to change back to my maiden name was handwritten, which I have found isn't acceptable for the BMV, it has to be typed. I called my attorney and he filed a nunc pro tunc request and took care of the issue. (I haven't yet received my new decree.) For doing this, my attorney has charged me $270, but I feel this is not only an outrageous price for the limited time it took to deal with this issue, but also a fee I shouldn't have to pay at all. Wasn't it his responsibility to make sure my divorce was handled legally? Isn't this why people hire attorneys to begin with? To be sure everything is done legally?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search