California | Administrative Law
Legal Question
I got divorced about five years ago,but I never received a marriage divorced certificated.So what should I do.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: James Goff |
You need to go to the court where the divorce was filed. Go to the clerk of the court and ask to see the file. You will need the case number. In reviewing the file you need to determine its status. For example was everything complete except for the final decree? Determine if other steps were incomplete. If the final decree is the only step remaining you can obtain the necessary forms from the clerk, a self-help office or online. You must determine whether intervening events might necessitate asking the court to make the decree final at an earlier date if so you need additional paperwork to address this issue. If a currently dated decree is all that is needed the process should be fairly simple, otherwise you may need to contact a self-help office for advice. Many bar associations sponsor clinics that can provide advice. Additionally, pro bono programs may provide help. Public law centers in your area also often provide advice. Good luck. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Hale Law Group
San Ysidro, CA
Questions Answered: 834
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Search Questions and Answers


