New York | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
if a doctor takes full resposibility for the death of a patient what is the maximum amount a family of seven can sue for?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: John Harwick, Esq. |
There is not statutory limit in New York. A court can reduce an excessive damages award however. What is considered excessive will depend on the facts in the case. In a death case, the family can recover damages for conscious pain and suffering, monetary loss and loss of parental guidance. It is the family's burden to prove each. Thus, in the case of an elderly victim how dies suddenly due to malpractice, damages are usually somewhat limited if the victim was not supporting anyone and suffered little before death. On the other hand, in a case where the victim was a wage earner who supported their family and suffered a great deal prior to death, damages can be provable into the millions. |
Top Attorneys in NY
Gonzalez Law Associates P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
Syosset, NY
Questions Answered: 1173
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-24
Law Offices of Jason Stern
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Jason B. Kessler, P.C.
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 715
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of Savy Grant
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Rothstein Law PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Jeffrey A. Lazroe attorney at law
Buffalo, NY
Questions Answered: 564
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-14
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Zuller Law Offices
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 391
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


