California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Due I have any rights?
I was fired from my job of 26 years for reasons of insubordination to my manager and leaving company parking lot on my allowed break time. This is their claim but I strongly believe it stemed from a verbal conversation with the owner of the Company. During our conversation which I was explaining to him what had happened he immediately became verbaly abusive to me in front of other co-workers. I quickly got the impression it was something I said that he blew up about so I asked him what he thought he heard me say so I could make things right and he became enraged and wouldnt let me speak. He threatened to fire me on the spot if I did not turn around in my seat and shutup. I did as he said while he stormed in to my managers office demanding an apology. I was in shock at what had happened but told my manager I said nor did anything disrespectful and I felt an apology would be admitting to a lie. I never apologized and the following week when he came back from a weeks vacation I was fired for this incident but they claimed reasons as I stated earlier. Do I have any kind of recourse??


