California  |  Disability Law

question bubble
10/11/11, 7:10 pm

Legal Question


In early 2010 I was diagnosed with an impinged nerve and instructed by the neuro-surgeon handling my case to wear a neck brace as much as possible. I wore the neck brace to work and did daily for 4 months until we were on our summer break.

At no time during the months I wore the neck brace at my place of employment was I ever requested to provide medical documentation nor was I unable to perform my job to its full degree.

Upon return to work in August, I was involved in an incident that resulted in the filing of a Workman’s Comp case. On that day one of district level managers investing the incident entered my office and saw my neck brace. The next day I was instructed to provide medical documentation for the wearing of the brace. To further cloud the issue of the WC case, due to lack of response on management’s part to address the issue that caused the incident, I called Cal-Osha who ultimately cited my employer for various infractions in reference to my WC claim.

Just before my return to work after the summer break of 2011, I was requested to attend an accommodation meeting with my employer and a consultant to address my disability needs. I hadn’t known I was disabled; I was just wearing a brace for most of the day as a conservative means of delaying surgery. I had never asked for any type of accommodation and I had always preformed my job in an excellent manner resulting in a decade’s worth of “Excellent” performance reviews.

My new supervisor had deemed changes in my job which would prove to be challenging with the current restrictions. These were addressed in the accommodation meeting and agreeable means were decided upon in order for me to meet these new tasks.

Since the accommodation meeting, my supervisor is now insisting that I file in filing cabinets that I cannot reach without violating the restrictions placed upon me by my doctor. I am expected to step up on a stool to reach the top drawers, while wearing a neck brace, and file. I have emphatically stated that I would not use a step stool as it would place me in harm’s way to do so. They are now requesting that I provide medical documentation that I cannot stand/step up on a stool or that I cannot remove the brace, step up on the stool, reattach it and file.

My question is two-fold. Does this appear to be retaliation for the WC case and subsequent filing with Cal-Osha and can a supervisor assign work that clearly violates the restrictions given by the doctor? The easiest accommodation to the entire situation is not to have me assume the work of another person, who is able- bodied, but refuses to perform the filing duties. For all the years I have held this position, I have performed every aspect of the job without help or accommodations. Quite honestly, I feel as though I am being set up.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search