Florida | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
I am self employed (technically unemployed). My wife and I work for ourselves as freelance marketers and when there is work we get paid. We have 2-3 clients who pay us by check or cash monthly.
I have a creditor who has a judgement against me and has frozen all the $1800 I made last month. They tried to tell me at my deposition today, that the money does not qualify as "income earned" or "wages" because no taxes are being taken out of the checks I receive.
I am married and deposit more into my account than my wife but head of household seems to be ignored by them bc we do not "earn" income.
They are telling me they will win in court and I should try to settle. How can they take 100% of my bank account if it is provable that the money in there is from my clients. Are they lying to get me to settle? I have no money and had to borrow from our family to pay our bill this & last month because of the hold on the only money we made. I have court Dec 29th and am in desperate need of answers on what steps I should be taking before then.


