Florida  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/11/12, 11:18 am

I was an employee for the Florida Department of Corrections and I was fired to to being charged with two criminal charges. I have not been found guilty of any of these crimes and I have been forth coming with all information starting from my investigation to the my arrest. I was fired due to being arrested and charged but there are many other coworkers that have been arrested and charged with crimes some convicted and they still work for the state of Florida. Was my dismissal legal?

1 Answer


Answered on: 5/17/12, 12:04 pm by Alan Smith

Probably yes, unless the employer discriminated based on sex, race, age, or some other protected status. Florida is an at-will state and employers may fire for any reason that does not discriminate.

That said, if you were a government employee you may have some collective bargaining agreement that offers additional protection. Talk to your union representative.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Tallahassee Legal Counsel 327 Office Plaza Tallahassee, FL 32301

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

153 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search