California | Employment Law
Legal Question
If an employee quits his job and received free housing with his job, does the employer have the right to ask him to leave his housing the day he quits?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
It depends what the employee's job was. For instance, if the employee was resident manager, and the apartment is for the resident manager, the employee can be asked to leave. If the employee had a pre-existing rental agreement with the owner and subsequently took on duties as an employee, then the employee might still have rights, although the employee might have to start paying for the apartment again. Also, if the employee's unit was not essential for the job but merely some type of compensation, a notice to quit might have to be served on the employee and an unlawful detainer commenced.
There's case law that states that most live-in janitors, resident managers, and caretakers need not even be served with a notice to quit. In some instances, though, local rent control/stabilization ordinances restrict an employer's right to evict a resident manager. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Joseph La Costa
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
Search Questions and Answers


