Virginia | Employment Law
Legal Question
I believe my employer is in breach of my employment contract. During my interview I stressed that I needed a full time 40hr position. If the position was not a 40hr a week position I could not accept it. Therefore, in my offer letter they wrote "It is with my great pleasure that I would like to offer you the position of full time (40hrs) Client Care Representative on this date 8/17/10. Since it stated the "full time 40hrs" I accepted the position. Up until 1/16/2012 this has held true. On 1/16/12 an email was sent out stating that "all full time employees will be cut back to a 35hr work week until father notice effective immediately." Since the importance of a (40hr a week) work week was discussed and then written into my offer letter and agreed upon, can she cut my hours? Why yes/no? I'm very upset I would never have accepted the job if she could cut my hours. Whats the point of signing offer letters if the employers don't have to adhere to them.
Thank you for your help,


