California | Disability Law
Legal Question
Does an employer in California have the right to make you sign a Authorization for release of medical information and/or records & protected health information or be Fired?
Does an employer in California have the right to make you sign a Authorization for release of medical information and/or records & protected health information or be Fired?
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Kirschbaum |
Generally, no. Employees are entitled to medical privacy. Employers are entitled to medical certification of an employee's fitness for duty but they cannot require an employee to sign a general release of all their medical records subject to threats of termination.
If your employer is threatening you, you should see an employment lawyer immediately. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13879
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2058
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1454
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
► Can i terminated medical coverage on an employee that has been on disability for 6...
► A buisness owner offered to do an oil change on my vehilcle and while in his...
► I just had a baby im returning back to work i talk to my manager about my return i...
► Can a person with a disabled child be evicted I am being accused of having...
► If a couple is married but living apart and the husband brought property in another...
► My former employer lied to the state of california unemployment office,I then had to...
► I live in san francisco and have a temporary disability handicap placard due to an...
More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press