California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Does an employer have to notify employees that they are being videotaped?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
There is no law preventing audio, video or other monitoring of company premises or of company communications like phone and computers, nor is there any law requiring 'notice' of doing so, except as to phone calls involving customers or other non-employees. That's why you hear the 'may be recorded or monitored notice' on some phone announcements. However, the safest course of action is for companies to give minimal basic warning to employees of such potential, such as a statement in the employee handbook or policy manual, posting on the company newsletter, info board or website, an initial memo to employees, etc. That should be done to avoid people claiming 'invasion of privacy', even though employee privacy does not exist on the job, except in bathrooms or changing rooms. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Donald R. Holben & Associates, APC
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Law Office of Joseph La Costa
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
Search Questions and Answers


