Legal Question in Employment Law in Illinois

My employer has a 90 probationary period for new hires.The union that represents the workers on this job states you are apart of the union after 60.Obviously there is an30 day difference.My union has started deducting initiation fees and dues before officially becoming permanent employer.In many instances employees wre let go or fired for many different reasons and had know union backing because the two companies numbers were not aligned.the union has pocketed money and not provided a service .

Asked on 6/25/12, 2:20 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Betty Tsamis Tsamis Law Firm PC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

A company cannot deduct union dues without your written authorization. If you gave written authorization, you can retract such authorization.

Read more
6/30/12, 5:39 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now