California | Employment Law
2/22/11, 5:50 pm
Legal Question
can an employer get sued for discrimination for not providing some employees with text messaging and not others
can an employer get sued for discrimination for not providing some employees with text messaging and not others
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
Unless the employer provides texting to people of one nationality and not another, or men but not women, etc., there's no actionable discrimination. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
That is pretty far fetched. The employee would have to prove it was 'because of' illegal discrimination under the ADA disability, Civil Rights [age, race, sex, ethnic, religion, pregnancy, etc], Whistle-blower, or similar statutes, that the distinction was made. Other than that, the employer is entitled to set and change hours, duties, titles, compensation, benefits, leaves, vacations, holidays, policies, rules, etc. just not retroactively. Employees have the 'right' to pay and employee benefits per the state wage and hour laws and any formal company policy that may be in place, to be provided a 'safe' workplace to minimize risk of injury, and sometimes are entitled by law to certain medical/pregnancy leave rights. That's about it. There are no laws against 'unfair treatment' or poor management. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13879
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2058
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
► I work for HR Block they canceled our breaks including lunch and I am a diabetic I...
► My company pays holidays for an employee if over 90 days. I have been with the...
► I am not allotted any sick days or vacation until you have been working for one...
► My husband works for a company that is not following their payroll...
► I work for a company in California that is restricting parking for certain lots...
► I have signed employment contract which say if I leave the company before 1 year, I...
► SEEKING LEGAL COUNCIL Clean record but randomly selected to retake California CDL...
More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press