California | Disability Law
Legal Question
Are there any employment situations in which carpal tunnel, lupus, or obesity are considered to be qualified disabilities under the ADA?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
Yes, when properly certified by your physician. An employer is not allowed to "discriminate" against a legally defined "disability" by any adverse employment action like termination, demotion, harassment, hostile environment, etc. An employer is obligated to provide 'REASONABLE' accommodation of a disability upon proper medical certification of your disability and specific medical requirements necessary to accommodate you, IF accommodation can be done without substantial burden to the company, and IF such accommodation will allow you to still perform ALL the essential functions of your job. Violation and failure to accommodate is grounds for a lawsuit. Every case is determined upon its merits and all the facts. If you think you can prove they failed to do so under those rules, feel free to contact me. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Michael R. Kirschbaum
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Pavone & Cohen
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Donner & Donner
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
'Isi Mataele Attorney at Law
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
The Law Office of Arkady Itkin
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Search Questions and Answers


