California | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
I am an engineer and signed an agreement with a company to develop a widget. The written deal was that I would get $0 for the development and only royalty after the product started to sell. The IP would belong to the company.
The product prototype is working, however the company wants all the documentation and designs. I refused to give it to them, as they will never pay me if they don't need me.
I am an individual in CA, the company is an LLC in Idaho.
Their lawyer sent me a letter stating that all designs need to be submitted to them or else they will take the next step.
Questions:
1. If I don't send them the designs, can they go after me, even though I did not take any money from them for the development.
2. If I give them the designs, can they come after me for any damages.
3. If I give them the designs, can I go after them for royalty when the product is sold.
4. I am fully aware, that once they get the designs, I will never see them or any money after that. What is the best way to proceed.
Thanks.


