Virginia  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
12/05/11, 10:47 am

Legal Question


In the EQUINE ACTIVITY LIABILITY ACT Act 351 of 1994 it lists an equine event being a parde.

it also states: Engage in equine activity does not include spectating at an equine activity, unless the spectator places himself or herself in an unauthorized area and in immediate proximity to the equine activity.

So, if a child walking through a parking lot immediately after the parade gets too close to a horse being walked back to a horse trailer and get stepped on is the owner of the horse liable for the child's injuries?

The parking lot was not designated for off limits to either horse or child, but the child & family and other spectators decided to approach the horse. It was not invited by the horse owner.

thanks

Janine Wilson


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search