Georgia | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
i am excuter of the will of my mothers will and she passed in 2008 and i want to do a quick claim deed. My question is how can i do it if she has passed.
i am excuter of the will of my mothers will and she passed in 2008 and i want to do a quick claim deed. My question is how can i do it if she has passed.
|
Read More Answered By: Glen Ashman |
First of all, there s no such thing as a quick claim deed (perhaps you meant quitclaim?). Second of all, such a deed is NOT how an Executor (I assume that is what you meant) transfers property. Before transfering any property, you need to hire a lawyer, complete probate, advertise to creditors and then act pursuant to the will, usualy by an assent.
Step one, as I said, is hire a lawyer. |
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Thompson |
An Executor cannot convey property by quitclaim. Step one is to probate the will, if you have not done so.
From there, it depends on who you are conveying the property to.
If you are selling it to an outsider, you will either have to be given the power to so by the will, or you will have to ask the probate court to approve the sale (or to grant you the power to sell). You would then execute an Executor's Deed, reciting your authority to sell.
If you are conveying the property to the person or persons designated to receive it under the will, you must first make sure all of your mother's debts are paid (and also advertise for creditors to submit claims, and wait out the period for them to submit claims), and then execute an Executor's Deed of Assent, reciting the will provision under which you are acting.
Retaining a lawyer for this process is highly recommended. |
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8777
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5579
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 3531
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
Cary, NC
Questions Answered: 2699
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Lawrenceville, GA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-04
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 260
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-20
► My 90 year old mother has two bank accounts. However, she has always saved cash...
► After our marriage, my husband aquired 4 commercial properties in GA. After an...
► Do grandchildren of deceased have any rights regarding what happened to their grand...
► Why do I have to fill out a inventory for my husbands will if he left everything to...
► My Mom passed away Dec. 20, 2009. She left me an old rental house she owned. My...
► My husband's elder brother, by deceit and fraud, got their mother to sign over her...
► Wnt to know rights of a only child taking care of parnet.com
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Georgia| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press