California | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
The executor admits stealing funds from sibling's trusts. How to handle this?
thx
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Chris Johnson |
Does the executor still have access to the funds? If so, try to have them resign voluntarily to stop more losses, and try to work out a settlement agreement (in writing) for repayment. If they refuse to do so, you'll have to file a petition to have the court remove them and order the losses repaid. |
|
Read More Answered By: Jonathan Reich |
If you are not a beneficiary of the trust in question, you do not have standing to do anything. If, however, you are a beneficiary, even a residual or contingent one, you can, and should demand (a) that the executor/trustee return the funds in question, and (b) resign. If the executor/trustee won't do so then you can, and probably should, file a Petition in the Probate Court to compel the executor/trustee to do so. If you would like assistance in this matter, please feel free to call me.
Jon Reich
IMPORTANT NOTICE: The above response is not intended to, and does not, create an attorney-client, fiduciary or other confidential relationship with the responder. Neither does it constitute the providing of legal advice or services or the giving of a legal opinion by the responder. Such a relationship can only be created, and legal advice and/or legal services provided, pursuant to a written agreement with the responder. Accordingly, no obligations of any kind are assumed with respect to any matter or question presented. It should also be noted that legal issues are often time sensitive and legal rights may be lost or compromised if you do not act in a timely fashion. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Phillip C. Lemmons
Fountain Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 1776
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-15
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Search Questions and Answers


