California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
My ex-fiancee and I owned a condo for 6 years, she left me a year into owning the condo. I lost the condo back in April after 17 months of not paying the mortgage or hoa dues. Am I able to recoup the monies that I paid during the 4-1/2 years of owning the condo. She never paid for any of the above bills. Is there a possibility that I could sue for some of the money?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
The first thing that strikes me about your post is that you did not pay the HOA dues for 17 months. In California, HOA dues are a personal obligation, and unless someone paid them on your behalf, the HOA will at some point be seeking recovery of those monies from you. Always pay dues even if you are walking away from the property.
Next, one needs to review the actual purchase documentation and the manner in which you held title with your ex-fiancee to determine what the respective obligations and rights may be between you two. Typically, in a tenancy in common, each co-owner is liable for the cost of maintenance of the property (debt service, etc...). The paying co-owner may have the right to seek reimbursement from the non-paying co-owner, however, that may have gone away as a result of (1) her abandonment of her interest by leaving, and (2) the loss of the home through foreclosure. It is a complicated question, and one that is probably not capable of being answered on a free, internet legal forum. I would suggest contacting a local real estate litigation attorney in your area to discuss. The cost of such litigation, and the likelihood that you cannot recover your attorneys fees from her absent a contract in which she agreed to pay them, may point to this being a losing cause.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. Further, information you provide to the Firm through this website is not confidential - it is available publicly to anyone visiting this website. The Firm shall have no obligation to keep the information you provide herein confidential in any context. The information provided herein by the Firm is general, and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. As required by 11 U.S.C. §528, we must now disclose that, "We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code. Assistance we provide with respect to Debt Relief may involve bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code." |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12211
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


