California | DUI Law
Legal Question
how do i go about expunging my criminal record? how long do i have to wait to expunge multiple DUI offenses? how long does this prosses take?
how do i go about expunging my criminal record? how long do i have to wait to expunge multiple DUI offenses? how long does this prosses take?
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Stone |
1. You get one chance to do it right. Your attorney will do it right. 2. Until after you've completed probation (assuming these are misdemeanors). 3. A month or two. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
While the general rule is ‘Records are forever’, some convictions can be 'expunged' from criminal records by proper application and Petition to the court, but ONLY IF there was no felony prison time sentenced, and if all terms of sentencing and at least one year of probation are completed, and if there are no new charges pending. If successful, the conviction would be withdrawn and the charges dismissed. Expungement does NOT ‘clear’, 'remove' or ‘erase’ the conviction, but does change the record to show 'conviction reversed and dismissed by expungement'. The conviction is still a 'prior' or 'strike' for purposes of repeat offense with the court and DMV. Expungement will help in obtaining and keeping employment. When applying for a job in the private sector, in response to any question concerning your prior criminal record, you may deny that you were arrested or convicted of the offense. However, you must disclose the arrest and conviction in any questionnaire or application for public office, for a position as a peace officer, for licensing by any state or local agency, for contracting with the California State Lottery, or for purposes of serving on a jury. The licensing agency and employer then can decide, in their discretion, whether you are barred from licensing or employment because of the conviction. If you’re serious about doing this, and you think you qualify under those rules, feel free to contact me for the legal help you'll need. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 990
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
San Ysidro, CA
Questions Answered: 834
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Chico, CA
Questions Answered: 748
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-24
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Palmdale-victorville-valencia, CA
Questions Answered: 584
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-10
► I went to court for possesion of controlled substance but now they are trying to add...
► Can I sue a private dui program for wrongfully terminating me from the classes?...
► I received a DUI in California in 2003. When I received the DUI there was a penalty...
► If a sheriff asks me to get out of a parked car to check my eyes" and or...
► I received a DUI in California in 2003. When I received the DUI there was a penalty...
► If i got an DUI and want to get rehab instead of prison time what could i do
► I was arrested for a DUI. I'n fact my court is tomorrow. I was at a lake waiting for...
More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press