New Jersey | Tax Law
Legal Question
My ex-wife and I have two children together. We have joint custody and the children live with her for over 6 months out of the year. I pay child support and she is currently not working. She has a live in boyfriend and has informed me that he has claimed our children on his taxes. I have asked the question at H&R block if he can legally do this and they said the only ways he can is if they are married, or her boyfriend is a legal guardian. Although I have looked online and see where it may be possible that he can do this. We do not have an agreement say which one of us can claim the children, however I feel it isn't right that he can claim my children over me. Can he claim them over me?


