Texas | Family Law
Legal Question
My ex-wife, according to our divorce decree, is required to maintain a residence for our 9 year old daughter in Bell County, Texas. If she moves out of Bell County what are my options?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bob Leonard |
You can file a motion to enforce the divorce decree. You might not be successful depending on how well the provision was written. If it was done by an attorney, you are probably OK.
After you do that, your former wife will probably file a motion to modify the decree to allow her to move. Whether she is successful will depend on the circumstances of the case, but she has the burden of proving that there has been a material and substantial change in circumstances and that it would be in the best interest of the child. That is not easy to do. |
Top Attorneys in TX
Langford Law Firm
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 5365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
BUSHMAN LAW OFFICES
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 1632
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-19
Law Office of S. Keith Engelke
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 1565
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Brashear Law Firm, PLLC
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 923
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Baez Law Firm, P.C.
San Antonio, TX
Questions Answered: 840
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-03-28
Power Daley PLLC
Plano, TX
Questions Answered: 651
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-04
The Lee Law Firm
Austin, TX
Questions Answered: 567
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Bob Leonard Law Group, PLLC
Fort Worth, TX
Questions Answered: 490
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-16
Search Questions and Answers


