Massachusetts  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
2/16/11, 6:17 pm

Legal Question


One family member coerced my father in law to change the beneficiaries of his trust. My father in law stated to several people after this family member left the country for a while, that he wanted to change it back to the way it was but nobody knew that the trust was really changed. We all thought he was just confused as he was suffering from dementia. The family member that had it changed, kept it a secret until after my father in law died. What recourse do the other family members have? They know that their father wanted the trust to be split three ways. Does the Executor of the will have the right to over-ride the secret amendment that the other children did not know about? The trust was changed while my father in law was living in the State of Florida, however the property is located in Massachusetts and the trust amendment was sent to the Massachusetts Attorney in charge of the Estate.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search