India  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
2/02/12, 6:38 am

Legal Question


A family partnership firm with six partners was formed to manage lease of property generating substantial rental income. They are maintaining account in nationalized Bank in the name of the firm M/S.ABC Corporation, One partner died in 1998, while another expired in 2007. Three other partners are residing out of station, and only one partner managing entire property. He did not inform the Bank about their deaths and fraudulently opened similar named M/S.ABC Corporation with him as sole proprietor in the same Bank in the month of July 2007. In the month of August 2011 ha submitted a letter purportedly signed by all six partners forging the signature of one of the partner and also those of deceased partners long after their deaths, for closing partnership firm`s account and transferring entire balance therein to the similar named propitiatory firm account. Subsequently all rental income were credited to this new proprietary firm account. This one partner who just discovered this forgery and fraud recently and is not aware whether other two partners are party to this fraud. What criminal action can be taken against him under criminal law for 1) Forging of his signature and those of two deceased partners long after their deaths and 2) Fraudulent transfer of property of partnership firm to new sole proprietor account. Can we file a FIR against this partner with a local police station? If so under what section of Indian Criminal Law (IPC)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search