Utah  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
1/24/12, 12:23 am

Legal Question


Are fan-arts considered copyright infringement? I made two Naruto fan-arts that were removed due to copyright concerns.

As far as I can tell, Masashi Kishimoto the creator of Naruto holds the copyright. I have since asked the host websight for a copy of the actual notice. Would forcibly removing my artworks be considered an unreasonable seizure if I did not get a copy of the notice? If so what actions are permissible?

Granted, I am willing to cooperate with their decision if a legitimate copyright owner asked for my fan-art to be removed, but my suspicion leads me to believe that was a fellow artist that had supplied false information to have my art removed.

Do you have any tips regarding my situation? Thank you kindly.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search