Connecticut  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/09/12, 12:33 pm

my father died 2 years before he died at 86 years old my niece showed up after being gone for 20 years. She had herself put on the will and now owns have the estate. The attorney for the estate is selling off part of the property to collect his money. Is this legal

1 Answer


Answered on: 5/10/12, 7:36 am by John Heffernan

Unless someone challenged the will, you're out of luck. If you believed the neice had exerted undue influence over him, or that he was incompetent to execute a will, it was up to you to bring a challenge in the probate court. If nobody did that, too bad. If the estate had bills (including the lawyer's bill) and assets had to be sold to pay the bills, so be it.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Heffernan Legal Group, LLP 433 South Main Street, Suite 114 West Hartford, CT 06110

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

166 Answers given in the last few hours.

7526 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search