California | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
My father died 2 yrs ago I have been paying the mortage on the house. He didn't have a will. He did put my brother and I on the deed. The loan is in his name only. If the house is foreclosed on are we still responsible?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
If neither you nor your brother are borrowers on the loan, and did not sign any guarantees or any other amendments to the loan documents, then you are almost certainly not going to be liable in the event of a foreclosure. That being said, you need to be absolutely sure that neither of you ever signed the original loan documents, any guarantees or any other modification or amendment to the documents, or you could be liable. Just by virtue of being in the chain of title, however, does not create any financial or credit liabilty for the mortgage.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. As required by 11 U.S.C. §528, we must now disclose that, "We are a debt relief agency. We help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code. Assistance we provide with respect to Debt Relief may involve bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code." |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Basically, the estate of a decedent is liable for the decedent's debts, such as the mortgage on his house. However,California has several laws limiting a lender's recourse on most home loans to the collateral itself, so the lender is usually limited to foreclosing and being satisfied with the results.
The few exceptions would involve instances where there was a second mortgage that became unsecured due to loss of the collateral upon a foreclosure by the lender in first position, or where a lender decided for some reason to forego foreclosure by trustee's sale and pursue judicial (court) foreclosure. Even then, there can be no deficiency judgment when the loan in question is a purchase-money first mortgage on a property which the borrower intends to occupy as his primary residence.
I think a violation of the loan terms may have occurred when the two sons were placed on title, unless the lender gave permission. Most loans have due-on-sale clauses which are triggered by making someone else a joint tenant, whether as a gift or for value received. This would generally allow the lender to accelerate the maturity of the loan, but I don't believe it would affect the lender's rights in a foreclosure.
I assume without really knowing that it was unnecessary to probate the estate, or at least that the house passed to the brothers without the necessity of probate. You should make sure the lender knows where to send notices. You should also be aware that several events here will or may affect your tax liability, including receiving a share of title to the property, the father's death, and a foreclosure. Consult a tax expert. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13881
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12210
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10409
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Lyle W. Johnson Attorney at Law
San Jose, CA
Questions Answered: 6614
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Search Questions and Answers


