Nevada | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Father has land in Lyon County Nevada valued at $5,000 which wasn't included in their irrevocable trust filed in Redding California. Who do we contact to transfer title?
Father has land in Lyon County Nevada valued at $5,000 which wasn't included in their irrevocable trust filed in Redding California. Who do we contact to transfer title?
|
Read More Answered By: Paul Malikowski |
The probate court in the judicial district where the land lies will need to be petitioned for a transfer in accordance with the deceased owner's stated written wishes or by the Nevada laws of intestate succession. |
|
Read More Answered By: Rick Williams |
Your father's living trust has nothing to say about the land if it was not properly re-titled in the name of the trust after he formed it. You indicate this was not done. I would hope the company or firm that drafted the trust also included what is called a "pourover will." This legal document will enable you to open a simple probate in Lyon County, Nevada to enable transfer of the title to the land. It is likely the will you find with the trust documents specifies that any property left out of the trust is given to the trust. Then, it would be disbursed in accordance with the trust terms.
Realistically, it may not be in your interest even to pursue this in Nevada. First, you will have to hire a Nevada-licensed attorney to file the papers and, potentially, make an appearance in court to conclude the matter. It is probable that you would spend half or more of the total value of the land (if your estimation is accurate) just getting it titled in accordance with the terms of the trust. I have had clients in similar circumstances choose to just allow the land to be lost to a property tax lien and they have nothing more to worry about. If, however, the land means something to your family, or it has good investment potential, it might well be worth the further investment.
My office would be happy to help you get this straightened out. |
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1454
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Bangalore,
Questions Answered: 416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Sparks, NV
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-21
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Auburn, CA
Questions Answered: 117
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-03-30
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
► My father passed away in August of this year. Unfortunately, he passed away before I...
► I am named as a fidisuary on a will/trust.i am also in trust to recieve all...
► I live in Illinois and am the executor of my father's estate. He lived Nevada, and...
► I would like to find out who the attorney was who wrote a trust or living trust for...
► I had friends that lived and passed away in Clark County, Nevada. I live in...
► Is their anyway that you can get a loan on an inheritance that has been paid to two...
► Is their anyway that you can get a loan on an inheritance that has been paid to two...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Nevada| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press