New York | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My father recently passed away and my half sister, who was not power of attorney and my brother, who was my father's power of attorney were controlling my father's finances/checkbook. The checkbook is in my father and mother's name and my mother, who is still living, assigned me to be her power of attorney since my father's passing. They refuse to return her checkbook now and all other financial related documents - my mother does not want them controlling her finances anymore. What steps do I need to take to get them to turn over the checkbook and other related financial documents?


