Indiana | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
My Father recently passed away & he a home with a bank note attached. I had his mail forwarded to my home. Soon after his death I notifiyed the bank that he had deceased. I faxed his death certificate & a brief note saying I wanted nothing to do with the home Anyway since then I have been getting notifications from the bank. All the notifications had his Name on the mail. Nothing mentioned about my name any where. Yesterday I recieved a letter from an attorney hired by the bank to collect a debt. Every thing in the letter is as if they think my Father is still alive.I have no financial power being disabled & on Social Security. There was one life insurance policy & it was signed to the funeral director by my father. Now that I have brought you up to speed here is my quick question. Can I be held liable for my Dads estate? Should I hire a attorney?
Thank you, Sincerely Timothy R.


