Ohio | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
My father has terminal cancer and has a house with a second mortgage on it....What should we do? transfer it in our names or just let it go to probate???
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Christine Socrates |
I do not recommend transferring the house to your names at this time. One advantage of holding a property until you die is the tax benefit of stepped up basis which can save significant amounts of money if your father's home has appreciated at all since its purchase. One alternative is he can execute a transfer on death deed which will keep the property in his name until his death but avoid probate after his death.
I hope this helps. Please let me know if you need clarification or have additional questions. |
Top Attorneys in OH
Nancy Fioritto Patete, L.P.A.
Mayfield Heights, OH
Questions Answered: 1266
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-29
Frank J. Rozanc, Esq.
Eastlake, OH
Questions Answered: 1023
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-08
Gregg A. Manes, Esq.
Akron, OH
Questions Answered: 905
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-18
Edward DiCato Attorney at Law
Green, OH
Questions Answered: 758
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-03
Guinn Law Firm, LLC
Dover, OH
Questions Answered: 660
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-30
Elizabeth S. Schmitz Attorney at Law
Columbus, OH
Questions Answered: 547
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-03
Rosplock & Perez
Willoughby, OH
Questions Answered: 427
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-08-27
Attorney at Law
Cleveland, OH
Questions Answered: 225
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-08
WILLIAM A. BRANDWEIN, A PROFESSIONAL LAW CORP.
Monterey, CA
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-01-26
James G. Flaherty Co., L.P.A.
Westerville, OH
Questions Answered: 152
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-22
Search Questions and Answers


