California | Elder Law
Legal Question
My father-in-law and mother-in-law are in their 80s and living in an independent living facility. They both have some degree of dementia and both need to be in an assisted living facility. My mother-in-law has fallen a number of times and has been hospitalized as a result the last two times. My father-in-law can understand that they need to be in assisted living, but he has been shuffling his feet for about a year because he's not able to make good decisions. There is a power of attorney form where he has listed his wife as the beneficiary (if that's the right word), and my wife as an alternate. As far as finances, he's named his wife and no alternate. They are visiting a facility right now that we picked out and he's saying that it's "too fancy," which is another excuse. Their doctors and social workers all agree that they cannot continue to live in an independent living facility. In addition, the doctors say that it won't be long before they both need memory care. What can we do to force them to move into this facility? My mother-in-law wants to move there. I should add that the lawyer who drafted the original document is no longer practicing.


