Pennsylvania | Social Security Law
Legal Question
My fathers gets social security disability, he recently won a law case for a medicine related thing, and got a settelment of about 12,000. Now there telling them if he takes the money his disability will be cut or even taken away. Can they do this and is there any way around it?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Terence Sean McGraw |
It depends on what kind of social security he is receiving. Social Security Disability (SSD), paid on the basis of one's work record would not be affected by a settlement. If your father did not have much of a work record (lots of disability, mostly worked for cash, etc.), or his disability occurred after his SSD coverage ran out, he would be collecting Supplemental Security Income (SSI). SSI is a needs based benefit (like Welfare) where one does not qualify if they have too much money or too many assets.
If that is the case, the settlement can be put into a "special needs trust." That kind of trust prevents the settlement proceeds from affecting your father's SSI entitlement. It does restrict your father's use of the settlement money somewhat but it prevents disqualification from SSI.
There are other strategiesto use that do not avoid some impact but drastically minimize the impact. If the lawyer handling the settlement does not know these techniques, your father (or his lawyer) should consult with a SS lawyer.
This answer to your legal inquiry is based upon the limited facts stated in your question. Accurate legal advice is based upon an exchange between a lawyer and a client. The lawyer can then ask about other facts that may change or confirm the answer. Without that exchange, this reply should be considered limited in value. You should rely on this answer only at your own risk. Direct consultation with a lawyer is always recommended. Answering your question does not create an attorney-client relationship.
|
Top Attorneys in PA
Law Office of Charles A. Pascal, Jr.
Leechburg, PA
Questions Answered: 1102
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Solomon Weinstein, Esquire
Feasterville, PA
Questions Answered: 779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
DIAMONDLAWYER
Philadelphia, PA
Questions Answered: 684
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-16
Law Office of Justin C Gearty Jr
Lancaster, PA
Questions Answered: 259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
F. Randall Selagy, P.C.
Kennett Square, PA
Questions Answered: 224
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-06
Solomon, Berschler, Schatz, & Monaghan, P.C.
Norristown, PA
Questions Answered: 217
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-09
Warren & McGraw, LLC
Blue Bell, PA
Questions Answered: 164
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Law Office of Michael D.J. Eisenberg, Attorney and Counselor at Law
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 155
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-18
Brandon J. Barnett Attorney At Law
Pittsburgh, PA
Questions Answered: 134
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-04-19
Benner & Piperato
Bethlehem, PA
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Search Questions and Answers


