Maryland | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I have been on federal probation for 2 out of 3 years. I am required to have mental health treatment, but I have been going off and on, and now off again. I'm wondering if I am violated due to this what I could possibly face. The only portion of time that I did not finish was 30 days of my year and a day sentence. If I am violated, i'm sure these 30 days could be an option for the judge to throw back at me. BUT....
1. Will I receive more time for violating?
2. Would I be required to submit to probation a second time after doing the remaining jail term?
3. Is it possible probation could be extended and not go back to jail?
4. I have not committed any other crime to violate probation, is it possible just to accept being violated, finish my jail term and not have probation once I leave jail?
I was convicted of a crime (unauthorized use of a business access device), and sentenced to a year and a day of BOP time, and over $75k in restitution. My probation has a condition of mental health care also. I went to prison on January 12th. I received good time, allowing me to spend time in a halfway home. So released from prison on September 22 and into the halfway home, which I stayed until November 25. I was then released and began my period of probation on Nov 26th. I complete probation on 12/25/12. I had a few tumbles with probation but nothing serious. I have not been participating in the mental health condition, which my probation officer plans to violate me for.
I'm sick of probation and honestly would rather violate if I can finish the 30 days and not have to worry about probation after finishing my sentence.


