California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
12/25/11, 10:24 pm

Legal Question


I fell in a store 2 days ago. There was a small, clear plastic hanger on the floor just around the other side of a rack I was about to go around. As I turned the corner, I stepped on it. It was like stepping on a piece of ice. I went down hard and hurt myself. The hanger was in direct view of the dressing rooms, so I don't understand how an employee wouldn't have seen it. As soon as I told the store manager about what happened, she got on the PA system telling all store employees to walk down every aisle to insure there were no hangers on the floor. Too late for me.

So, my question(s). I've been recently laid off, so am without insurance. I know I have to go to the doctor because I can't take the pain any longer and the difficulty walking now is really scaring me. I'm really worried that my issues won't resolve on their own. I'm a tough person, so it takes a lot to knock me down, but I really think I've suffered a few bad injuries. The store manager told me someone would call me the morning after the fall to see how I was. No one has called. I guess I'm not surprised. Should I contact them and let them know that I have to get checked by a doctor? Are they obligated to pay for it or am I on my own? Unfortunately, I can't afford to see a doctor so, if they aren't willing to pay, I guess I'll have to hope things get better over time.


Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys

The Law Offices of Eslamboly & Barlavi has over 20 years of experience helping victims of automobile, motorcycle, pedestrian, slip-and-fall accidents and much more all over California. We can help you recover for your pain and suffering and other losses and expenses. No recovery No fee. Visit our website or call us for a free consultation about your case at 1-800-LAW-TALK.

Find Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search