New Jersey  |  Family Law

question bubble
9/19/11, 11:09 pm

Legal Question


My fiancée was slated to start paying child support in 2003 and was assessed to pay weekly payments based on what she made at that time. In 2005 she was reassessed to pay a larger weekly amount based on her new salary. Two years later she lost her job.

From that time until now she has had sporadic employment which has never paid a salary equal to the amount she was reassessed for. When she was not working and collecting unemployment weekly support was taken out. She is unemployed now and has been since the past couple of years and is now in arrears for a little over $14,000.

So my questions are the following.

1.) Is there anyway to have her case reassessed to reflect a different salary (not the original $42,000) since she is probably going to have to work part time (due to taking care of a child).

2.) Is there any way to have her arrears reduced to reflect the time she was either not working or not making the salary she was reassessed at?

3.) If she is allowed to have her case reaccessed is there any possibility that she will be taken into custody at the hearing because of monies owed? i.e. arrears.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search